Audi R10 TDI n.8 Winner 24 Hours of Le Mans 2006

AUDI R10 TDI n.8


The Audi R10 TDI n.8 is the first diesel-powered prototype to have won the 24 Hours of Le Mans. The Audi after the four successes in five years of the previous R8, decides to embark on the adventure of endurance with this new engine by anticipating a year the future Peugeot opponents, who had announced to return to the endurance races, also with a diesel engine, but only in 2007.

At the 24 Hours of Le Mans 2006 they won Pirro, Biella and Werner with the Audi R10 TDI n.8, which during the race was the most constant and reliable, in second place the Pescarolo arrived while in the third the twin car driven by Kristensen, Capello, McNish. In the ALMS championship, with only Pirro and Biella driving, he also won the Grand Prix of Utah and La Road America 500.


Audi R10 TDI
Carbon fibre monocoque with fully stressed engine
Length: 4650 mm
Width: 2000 mm
Height: 1030 mm
Brakes: Ventilated carbon fibre discs
Tyres: Michelin


Audi 5499 cc V12 a 90° Turbo Diesel
Power: 485 kW
Drive Type: Rear wheel drive.
Transmission: Xtrac five speed Sequential
Differential: Rear differential lock
Tank Capacity: 90 lt
Fuel Type: Diesel


Winner 24 hours of Le Mans 2006 with drivers Frank Biella, Emanuele Pirro, Marco Werner

Posted in DRAWS 24 HOURS OF LE MANS and tagged .

Leave a Reply