Jaguar C-Type n.20 winner 24 Hours of Le Mans 1951 with Walker and Whitehead

JAGUAR C-Type n.20


The Jaguar C-Type n.20 is the winning car of the 1951 Le Mans 24 Hours. The car was equipped with a Jaguar XK120 mechanic on a tubular frame designed by Bob Knight and an aerodynamic designed by Malcolm Sayer, and was one of the antagonists main of the Talbot-Lago T26 winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans 1950.

Walker and Whitehead won with the Jaguar C-Type n.20 the 24 hours of Le Mans 1951, for the Coventry team was the first success in the French race.
The C-Type proved very fast even with the n.22 driven by Moss and Fairman who led the race for nine hours and only one engine problem forced them to retire. On the podium came, second the Talbot-Lago T26 GS n.9 of Meyret and Mairesse with a gap of nine laps, while in third place the Aston Martin DB2 n.26 of Macklin and Thompson with a gap of ten laps.


Jaguar C-Type
Aluminum over tubular frame
Length: 3988 mm
Width: 1638 mm
Height: 978 mm
Brakes: Drums
Tyres: Dunlop


Jaguar 3441 cc S6
Power: 147 kW
DriveType: Front wheel drive
Transmission: Manual four speed.
Tank Capacity: ? lt
Fuel Type: Petrol


Winner 24 hours of Le Mans 1951 with drivers Peter Walker, Peter Whitehead

Posted in DRAWS 24 HOURS OF LE MANS and tagged .

Leave a Reply