Jaguar D-Type n.3 winner 24 Hours of Le Mans 1957 with Flockhart and Bueb

JAGUAR D-Type n.3


The Jaguar D-Type n.3 is the winning car of the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1957. The Coventry team after the two consecutive wins of the previous two years, presented itself as the absolute favorite, Ferrari with the 250 TR was still unreliable, while the Aston Martin with its DB3S was not competitive enough.

Flockhart and Bueb won with the Jaguar D-Type n.3 the 24 hours of Le Mans 1957, the car was of the English team Ecurie Ecosse.
For Jaguar it was a domain occupying the first four positions. On the podium came, according to n.15 of Sanderson and Lawrence with a gap of eight laps, while in third place the n.17 of Lucas and Mary of the team Equipe Los Amigos with a gap of ten laps, off the podium the n.16 of Frere and Rousselle.
In the race the British cars improved the record of kilometers traveled reaching 4397 km.


Jaguar D-Type
Monocoque sheets of aluminum alloy
Length: 3912 mm
Width: 1664 mm
Height: 1372 mm
Brakes: Hydraulic discs Dunlop
Tyres: Dunlop


Jaguar 3781 cc L6
Power: 220 kW
DriveType: Front wheel drive
Transmission: Manual four speed.
Tank Capacity: 176 lt
Fuel Type: Petrol


Winner 24 hours of Le Mans 1957 with drivers Ron Flockhart, Ivor Bueb

Posted in DRAWS 24 HOURS OF LE MANS and tagged .

Leave a Reply