JAGUAR D-Type n.3



JAGUAR D-Type n.8


By purchasing the Image Jaguar D-Type n.3. You will receive an email with the link to download the image. Once purchased this will always be available in your account.


The Jaguar D-Type is a car that participated at the 24 Hours of Le Mans of 1959. The Coventry team updated the Jaguar C-Type winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1953, the new car with a more powerful engine and lines more tapered was to contrast the two favorites of the race, the Mercedes 300 SLR and the Ferrari 121 LM.

The British Ecurie Ecosse team with Innes Ireland and Masten Gregory at the wheel of the Jaguar D-Type n.3 did not finish at the 24 Hours of Le Mans 1959 due to broken engine after seventy laps. The race won by Aston Martin DBR1 n.5 of Carroll Shelby and Roy Salvadori, in second place the Aston Martin DBR1 n.6 with Maurice Trintignant and Paul Frere with a gap of one lap. While in third place the Ferrari 250 GT n.11 of Jean Blaton, Leon Dernier of the team Equipe Nationale Belge with a gap of twenty-six laps.


Jaguar D-Type
Designed: Malcolm Sayer
Monocoque sheets of aluminum alloy
Length: 3912 mm
Width: 1664 mm
Height: 1372 mm
Suspension front: Double wishbones, torsion bars, telescopic shock absorbers, anti-roll bar
Suspension rear: Rigid axle, transverse torsion bar, telescopic shock absorbers
Brakes: Hydraulic discs Dunlop
Tyres: Dunlop


Jaguar 3442 cc L6
Power: 220 kW
DriveType: Front wheel drive
Transmission: Manual four speed.
Fuel brand: ?
Fuel Type: Petrol
Tank Capacity: 176 lt


Did not finish 24 hours of Le Mans 1959 with drivers Innes Ireland, Masten Gregory

Additional information


Gregory Masten, Ireland Innes




24 Hours of Le Mans

Year Race



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JAGUAR D-Type n.3”