Benetton Ford B194 Formula 1 Champion with Schumacher




The protagonist of the 1994 Formula 1 World Championship was the Benetton – Ford B194 n.5.

The 1994 season brought considerable regulatory changes, the FIA ​​banned various electronic systems: the active suspension, the traction control, the ABS the bidirectional telemetry, the four drive wheels, the electronic differential and the possibility of refueling during the run was introduced, which caused the reduction of the tanks.

Engineer Rory Byrne and technical director Ross Brawn were the designers of the Benetton – Ford B194, they optimized the driving of their top driver Michael Schumacher, the car was powered by the Ford ZR V8 engine.

Michael Schumacher with the Benetton Ford B194 n.5 won the 1994 World Championship, for the German he was the first of seven titles won in his career. During the season he won eight Grands Prix: Brazil, Pacific, San Marino, Monaco, Canada, France, Hungary and Europe. The season was marred by the fatal incidents at the San Marino Grand Prix of Roland Ratzenberger and Ayrton Senna, the latter was the main candidate for the victory of the world after his move to Williams, teammate Damon Hill became after death Schumacher’s adversary. The World Championship was decided at the last Grand Prix in Australia, during the race Schumacher, despite a substantial advantage on Hill, hit the wall and damaged the front suspension, returning to the track hit the Williams of the English rider, who reported damage to the arm of the left front wheel and was forced to retire, the German driver won the title with a vantage point.


Benetton B194
Moulded carbon fibre composite structure
Length: 4350 mm
Width: 1990 mm
Height: 970 mm
Brakes: Discs
Tyres: Goodyear


Ford ZR V8 75°, 3494 cc in a mid mounted
Power: 760 CV
DriveType: Rear wheel drive
Transmission: Hewland transverse six speed semi-automatic
Tank capacity: ?
Fuel Type: Petrol


Winner of Formula 1 World Champion 1994 with driver Michael Schumacher.
Race winner: GP of Brasil 1994, GP of Pacific 1994, GP of San Marino 1994, GP of Monaco 1994, GP of Canada 1994, GP of France 1994, GP of Hungary 1994, GP of Europe 1994