Tyrrell - Ford Cosworth 010 n.4 twelfth in the Formula 1 World Champion 1980 with Derek Daly



The Tyrrell – Ford Cosworth 010 n.4 is a car that participated in the Formula 1 World Championship in 1980. The British team entrusted Maurice Philippe with the design of the new car. The 010 had an aluminum monocoque and was equipped with the traditional Ford Cosworth engine and the Hewland gearbox.

Derek Daly with the Tyrrell – Ford Cosworth 010 n.4 arrived twelfth in the 1980 Formula 1 World Championship, achieving fourth place as best result. Together with team-mate Jarier, Daly did not perform well. The best results of the team were the two fourth places obtained by the Irish driver in the races in Argentina and Great Britain. In the last two races of the season a third car was deployed for the young driver Mike Thackwell.

Daly was the protagonist during the departure of the Monaco Grand Prix of a dangerous carom, without physical consequences for the drivers.

Accident at the start of the Monaco Grand Prix in 1980

The Tyrrell ended the season sixth in the constructors’ championship won by Williams FW07B and world champion Alan Jones.


Tyrrell 010
Aluminium and carbon fibre monocoque with fully stressed engine
Length: ? mm
Width: ? mm
Height: ? mm
Brakes: Carbon Fibre Discs
Tyres: Goodyear


Ford Cosworth DFV 2993 cc V8 90°
Mid, longitudinally mounted
Power: 366 Kw injection
Drive Type: Rear
Transmission: Hewland FGA 400 five speed manual gearbox
Fuel Type: Petrol
Tank Capacity: ? lt


Twelfth in the Formula 1 World Champion 1980 with driver Derek Daly

Posted in DRAWS FORMULA 1 and tagged .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *