JAGUAR D-Type n.4



JAGUAR D-Type n.4


By purchasing the Image Jaguar D-Type n.4. You will receive an email with the link to download the image. Once purchased this will always be available in your account.


The Jaguar D-Type is a car that participated at the 24 Hours of Le Mans of 1956. The Coventry team after the success of the previous year with the Jaguar-D-Type n.6 presented itself again as the favorite having a reliability advantage, while the farewell to the Mercedes races after the accident of 1955, made Ferrari and Aston Martin the main contenders.

The British Ecurie Ecosse Ron Flockhart and Nininan Sanderson won with the Jaguar D-Type n.4 24 Hours of Le Mans 1956, the car was from the English team Ecurie Ecosse.
On the podium came, second the Aston Martin DB3S n.8 of Peter Collins and Stirling Moss with a gap of one lap, while in third place the Ferrari 625 LM n.12 of Olivier Gendebien and Maurice Trintignant with a gap of seven laps.
The race was conditioned by a rainy weather that caused many accidents, decimating the cars left, in fact only thirteen cars crossed the finish line.


Jaguar D-Type
Designed: Malcolm Sayer
Monocoque sheets of aluminum alloy
Length: 3912 mm
Width: 1664 mm
Height: 1372 mm
Suspension front: Double wishbones, torsion bars, telescopic shock absorbers, anti-roll bar
Suspension rear: Rigid axle, transverse torsion bar, telescopic shock absorbers
Brakes: Hydraulic discs Dunlop
Tyres: Dunlop


Jaguar 3442 cc L6
Power: 220 kW
DriveType: Front wheel drive
Transmission: Manual four speed.
Fuel brand: ?
Fuel Type: Petrol
Tank Capacity: 176 lt


Winner 24 hours of Le Mans 1956 with drivers Ron Flockhart, Ninian Sanderson

Additional information


Flockhart Ron, Sanderson Ninian




24 Hours of Le Mans

Year Race



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JAGUAR D-Type n.4”