JAGUAR D-Type n.7



JAGUAR D-Type n.7


The Jaguar D-Type is a car that participated at the 24 Hours of Le Mans of 1955. The Coventry team updated the Jaguar C-Type winning the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1953, the new car with a more powerful engine and lines more tapered was to contrast the two favorites of the race, the Mercedes 300 SLR and the Ferrari 121 LM. Tony Rolt, Duncan Hamilton at the wheel of the Jaguar D-Type n.7 did not finish at the 24 Hours of Le Mans 1955 due the transmission failure after one hundred eighty-six laps.

The race was won by Jaguar D-Type n.6 of Mike Hawthorn and Ivor Bueb, second the Aston Martin DB3S n.23 of Peter Collins and Paul Frere with a gap of five laps, while in third place the Jaguar D-Type n.10 of Swaters and Claes of the team Ecurie Francorchamps with a gap of eleven laps.
The race, however, was remembered especially for the disastrous accident that caused the death of 84 people, caused by the exit of the track of Pierre Levegh that with the Mercedes hit the Austin-Helaey of Macklin, the German car broke and its debris went over the people in the gallery.

Video crash Levegh Le Mans 1955

In the same year the Jaguar D-Type won the 12 hours of Sebring with Hawthorn and Walters.


Jaguar D-Type
Designed: Malcolm Sayer
Monocoque sheets of aluminum alloy
Length: 3912 mm
Width: 1664 mm
Height: 1372 mm
Suspension front: Double wishbones, torsion bars, telescopic shock absorbers, anti-roll bar
Suspension rear: Rigid axle, transverse torsion bar, telescopic shock absorbers
Brakes: Hydraulic discs Dunlop
Tyres: Dunlop


Jaguar 3442 cc L6
Power: 220 kW
DriveType: Front wheel drive
Transmission: Manual four speed.
Fuel brand: ?
Fuel Type: Petrol
Tank Capacity: 176 lt


Did not finish 24 hours of Le Mans 1955 with drivers Tony Rolt, Duncan Hamilton


By purchasing the Image Jaguar D-Type n.7. You will receive an email with the link to download the image. Once purchased this will always be available in your account.

Additional information


Hamilton Duncan, Rolt Tony




24 Hours of Le Mans

Year Race



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “JAGUAR D-Type n.7”