PORSCHE 550RS n.66



PORSCHE 550RS n.66


The Porsche 550RS is a car that participated at the 24 Hours of Le Mans of 1955. The Belgian Equipe Nationale Belge team with Olivier Gendebien and Wolfgang Seidel at the wheel of the Porsche 550RS n.66 finished fifth at the 24 Hours of Le Mans 1955 with a gap of thirty-one laps from winners.

The race was won by Jaguar D-Type n.6 of Mike Hawthorn and Ivor Bueb, second the Aston Martin DB3S n.23 of Peter Collins and Paul Frere with a gap of five laps, while third the Jaguar D-Type n.10 of Jacques Swaters and Johnny Claes with a gap of eleven laps.
The race, however, was remembered especially for the disastrous accident that caused the death of 84 people, caused by the exit of the track of Pierre Levegh that with the Mercedes hit the Austin-Helaey of Macklin, the German car broke and its debris went over the people in the gallery.

Video crash Levegh Le Mans 1955


Porsche 550RS
Designed: Erwin Komenda
Steel tubular ladder frame with aluminium panels
Length: 3600 mm
Width: 1540 mm
Height: 1050 mm
Suspension front: Twin parallel arms, transverse torsion bars
Suspension rear: Swing axles, torsion bars, double-acting telescopic shock absorbers
Brakes: Drums all round
Tyres: Dunlop


Porsche Type 547 1498 cc B4
Power: 82 kW
DriveType: Rear wheel drive
Transmission: Manual four speed.
Fuel brand: ?
Fuel Type: Petrol
Tank Capacity: ? lt


Fifth in the 24 hours of Le Mans 1955 with drivers Olivier Gendebien, Wolfgang Seidel


By purchasing the Image Porsche 550RS n.66. You will receive an email with the link to download the image. Once purchased this will always be available in your account.

Additional information


Gendebien Olivier, Seidel Wolfgang




24 Hours of Le Mans

Year Race



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “PORSCHE 550RS n.66”