MAZDA 787B n.55



MAZDA 787B n.55


By purchasing the Image Mazda 787B n.55. You will receive an email with the link to download the image. Once purchased this will always be available in your account.


The Mazda 787B is the winning car of the 24 Hours of Le Mans in 1991. The car was designed by Nigel Stroud and had the peculiarity to mount a Wankel rotary engine that combined with the kevlar frame reached a maximum weight of 830 kg. The Japanese manufacturer after the ill-fated Le Mans of the previous year with the 787 due to the overheating of the engine, updated the prototype to aim for the final victory.

Johnny Herbert, Bertrand Gachot and Volker Weidler won the 1991 Le Mans 24 Hours with the Mazda 787B n.55, while the Japanese did not make a fast race and took advantage of engine problems that had Peugeot, Mercedes and Porsche. The podium was completed by the Jaguar XJR-12LM n.35 of Davy Jones, Raul Boesel and Michel Ferte and the Jaguar XJR-12LM n.34 of Bob Wollek, Teo Fabi and Kenneth Acheson both had to race with fuel economy at due to the technical regulation.


Mazda 787B
Designed: Nigel Stroud
Composite fibre construction made of carbon fibres with a honeycomb
Length: 4782 mm
Width: 1994 mm
Height: 1003 mm
Suspension front: Double wishbones, inboard coil springs over shock absorbers, anti-roll bar
Suspension rear: Double wishbones, inboard coil springs over shock absorbers, anti-roll bar
Brakes: Carbon Discs
Tyres: Dunlop


Mazda R26B 2616 cc Four Rotor
Power: 552 kW
DriveType: Rear wheel drive
Transmission: Mazda/Porsche five speed manual
Fuel brand: Castrol
Fuel Type: Petrol
Tank Capacity: 100 lt


Winner 24 hours of Le Mans 1991 with drivers Johnny Herbert, Bertrand Gachot, Volker Weidler

Additional information


Gachot Bertrand, Herbert Johnny, Weidler Volker




24 Hours of Le Mans

Year Race



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MAZDA 787B n.55”